#086: Seel

I don’t know why I didn’t find Kat’s Creations’ pattern when I searched, but I didn’t, so I made this one up. It’s still only in short-hand at the moment, because I’ve got two dissertations to proof-read this week amongst other things, but I’ll flesh it out later, and in the meantime at least it exists! Nothing more frustrating than seeing a great amigurumi and being unable to make it 😉

Of course, I’m not suggesting this one is great. Most of it I think went pretty well. I liked the curvature of the body, and the flippers came out okay, but I found the cheeks tricky and ended up sewing one higher than the other. Don’t do that! Use pins for placement before sewing (I would, but I’ve lost mine and I’m not going to buy another packet because I already have more than I need). The other thing I didn’t like was the join from tail to body – in hindsight I possibly stuffed the tail too much and the body not enough, so the join is just way too obvious. Anyway, another perk to my sharing my pattern (such as it is!) is that you can experiment with it and use it as a springboard rather than having to start from scratch. And hopefully you’ve got a better idea how to get around the niggles I had!

Anyway, that’s the latest one down. Next is apparently Caterpie. How difficult am I going to make what is essentially a few balls and a tube?

Seel2So here’s the pattern. If you have a go, do let me know how you get on!

Seel amigurumi

Materials:
White yarn
Cream yarn
Pink yarn
Stuffing
Black felt for eyes (and nose unless you sew it)
White felt for fangs
All in white unless otherwise stated.

Head
MR 6
12
18
24
30
30
30
30
24
18
12
stuff
6
FO

Body
MR 6
12
18
24
30
36
36
36
36
36
4, dec, 4, dec, sc round 34
4 dec 4 dec sc round 32
4 dec 4 dec sc round 30
4 dec 4 dec sc round 28
*5sc, dec* 24
sc round 24
20
20
16
16
12

Front flippers (make 4)
ch 14
ss into 2nd loop, 3 ss, 4 sc, 5 hdc
ch 2, 5 hdc, 4 sc, 4 ss
ch 1, 4 ss, 4 sc, 5 hdc
rpt last two rows
FO

Sew two together, stuff lightly, attach.

Tail (make 4)
ch 10
ss 3, sc 3, hdc 3
hdc 3, sc 3, ss 3
ss 3, sc 3, hdc 3
rpt last 2 rows
FO

Sew two together, stuff lightly

Join together with a round of sc before attaching to end of tail.
Horn
MR 4
sc 4
sc 3, inc
sc 2, inc, sc 2
FO leaving tail for attaching, stuff lightly

Tongue
(in pink)
ch4
2sc sc 3sc (going around the bottom) sc sc into same hole as first 2 sc
sc in sc around, FO leaving tail for attaching, stuff lightly.

Cheeks
(in cream)
x2:
MR 6
2 sc in sc round (12)

Starting in the 2nd one, sc into the last row of the tongue across top and join to 1st cheek
w/ss or two. F/O
Do same along bottom, leaving tail for attaching. Stuff slightly as you attach to head.
May want to stitch a nose (in black) before attaching to head. I just went round and round
over the same stitches until it was big enough.

Seel character and Pokemon are copyright Nintendo.

This pattern is an original pattern by Diana Caulfield (April 2016). Please do not claim this
pattern as your own. If you wish to share this pattern, you may link to this pattern but please do not reprint it on your site. You may keep a copy for your own personal use but you may not sell or distribute it, or sell items made from this pattern.

About viridianarcher

Library Assistant, Pseudo Toxophilite and Erstwhile Musician.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #086: Seel

  1. Pingback: The BEST EVER Pokemon Go Crochet Amigurumi Pattern List | Jen's a Little Loopy

Love it? Hate it? Tell me your feel!

