#010: Caterpie

Pattern is from Nanette Crochet, here.

Caterpie3Just not feeling this one, sadly! I went wrong in a number of places, not quite badly enough to make it worth redoing most of them (but if I ever make one again, I’ll know what to do better, at least!). Firstly, the two top body parts are upside-down – I should have sewn the unfinished end of the first onto the head, then the unfinished part of the second onto the first. Instead I desperately tried to join two balls together, which really doesn’t work! Second the antenna is more attached than it should be, and finally, I got the two tail pieces mixed up and sewed the wrong one onto the end. Another problem was using two different brands of DK yarn; the yellow was much thinner than the green, so doesn’t quite fit as well as it should.

Caterpie1Another thing, if I was to make it again, I probably wouldn’t bother with the ten rings of chains. There were 25 pieces all in all to stitch together(!!) and I think I could have got a very similar effect, possibly a bit neater too, by chain stitching the yellow onto the green.

Decidedly meh, in the end, but that’s another one down, at least!

About viridianarcher

Library Assistant, Pseudo Toxophilite and Erstwhile Musician.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Love it? Hate it? Tell me your feel!

